News from the SECTIONS of the International Viola Society

The 12th Lionel Tertis International Viola Competition has just ended in Port Erin, Isle of Man, on March 19, 2016. The three main awards went to Timothy Ridout (UK), Manuel Vioque-Judde (France) and Wenhong Luo (China). Congratulations!


The Spanish Viola Society (AESAV) is Hosting its 6th National Viola Festival on April 22-24, 2016, at its home ground in the Conservatoire of Oviedo. For the program and further details please visit:


The 2016 International Viola Congress will be held in Cremona, Italy on October 4-8, hosted by Dorotea Vismara for the Associazione Italiana della Viola.

Information  is available online at the Italian VS's Website:

The 43rd International Viola Congress is holding an International Viola Competition!  Application deadline: March 31, 2016; semi-finals and final round to take place during the congress in Cremona.  More information here.

We look forward to seeing you in Cremona!


The newly founded Brasilian Viola Society begun its activities in October 2015 with a well attended and very successful First Encontro Nacional de Violistas.  Here is the program.


The 3rd Tokyo International Viola Competition, held on May 30 - June 7, 2015, has awarded its three prizes to Andrea Burger (Switzerland), Kei Tojo (Japan) and Louise Desjardins (France). Congratulations! Please visit  for updates on the winners' further activities and the TIVC's next edition.


This year's "Bratschistentag" took place at the Folkwang University in Essen, Germany in March 23 - 28 2015 and was be hosted by Prof. Emile Cantor. The event concentrated on the recent repertoire for our instrument. Informations about the participating artists and the program can be viewed under


The Italian Viola Society (AIV) hosted its 2nd nation-wide Event - the ViolaFest Nazionale 2015 - in Florence on March 6 - 8.

Among the many participating violists were the AIV's Honorary President, maestro Bruno Giuranna, and Michael Kugel.

The program can be viewed online at:

ViolaFest 2015 Plakat


The 2014 International Viola Congress was held in Porto, Portugal on November 26-30, hosted by Jorge Alves and his team.

The program is online at the Portuguese VS's Website:



Please welcome our newest Sections:
THAILAND: President Danny Keasler
NETHERLANDS: President Karin Dolman
PORTUGAL: President Jorge Alves
ITALY: President Augusto Vismara

The 2012 Silver Alto Clef Award has been awarded to Michael Tree, and was presented to him at the XL International Congress in Rochester, New York at Eastman.Honorable Memberships were awarded to David Dalton and Dwight Pounds at the XL International Viola Congress in Rochester, New York at Eastman.

The XL International Viola Congress was a remarkable success with 500+ attendees, making it the highest attended Viola Congress to date. Special thanks to Carol Rodland, Phillip Ying and George Taylor for making this event possible!

The Fourteenth Primrose International Viola Competition and Festival was held on June 8-14, 2014. Click here for details.

From the Finnish Viola Society:
Teemu Kupiainen, member of the Finnish Viola Society, has published a book. It consist of Teemu's diaries during his travels around the world as a street musician, playing only Bach.

CVS XXXth Anniversary- Canadian viola celebration

This celebration was held in Montreal, October 9-11, 2009.

It was a weekend of recitals, workshops, master classes and for the first time in the 30 year history of the Canadian Viola Society, awards were presented. "Lifetime Achievement Awards" were presented to ten people who have made outstanding contributions to the viola in Canada or to the Canadian Viola Society. The award consists of a certificate, spoken tributes from colleagues and relatives, listing on the CVS web site Honour Roll and, for those who are still living, a silver pin.

Baird Knechtel (Toronto) - introduced by Ann Frederking
Ralph Aldrich (London, ON)-introduced by Henry Janzen
Ann Frederking (Ottawa)- introduced by Baird Knechtel
Norma Lee Bisha (Halifax/Saskatoon)- introduced by Ann Frederking
Gerald Stanick (Calgary/Vancouver)- introduced by Ernest Kassian
Robert Verebes (Montreal)- introduced by Jocelyne Bastien
Stanley Solomon (Toronto)- introduced by Julian Fisher
Stephen Kondaks, posth. (Montreal)- introduced by Jamy Arrowsmith
Leslie Malowany, posth. (Montreal)- introduced by Robert Verebes
Jaroslav Karlowsky, posth. (Toronto)- introduced by Baird Knechtel